EDY’S ICE CREAM CONTAINS ALCOHOL

edy's

Edy’s ice cream is free from animal sources but it DOES CONTAIN ALCOHOL!

Below is the reply received from Edy’s in response to the question about the presence of alcohol or animal-sourced enzymes:

Thank you for your email requesting nutritional information on Edy’s® Grand Ice Cream products. In an increasingly health-conscious society, I am always pleased to respond to our consumers’ questions regarding our products.

Several of our ice cream products contain alcohol. The alcohol is used as an agent to carry the flavor. Vendors are not required to disclose the type of alcohol they use, they are only required to ensure that the alcohol is GRAS* and food-grade.

Generally speaking we strive to keep any product that contains alcohol to an alcohol level well within the guidelines of the FDA.

Also, aside from the gelatin in the marshmallows and marshmallow variegates, we have no other ingredients which are animal derived. However, there may also be eggs in some inclusions, like cookie dough.  Egg and milk are animal derived, but as one of the 8 major allergens, they will always be disclosed in the ingredient statement.

We hope that this information is useful to you and we appreciate your taking the time to contact our company to share your concerns.

Sincerely,
K. Susan Kelly
Consumer Response Representative

 

*GRAS: Generally Recognized as Safe

 

Related posts:

About The Author

I have been personally keeping a list of halal grocery products for a few years. The Halal list has gotten long and I intended to share it here in this blog. Hence, the name Halalist came to existence. Join me in my search for the truth about ingredients of store bought products...

No Comments