Ingredients: sugar, modified palm oil, hazelnuts, cocoa, skim milk, reduced minerals whey (from milk), soy lecithin: an emulsifier, vanillin: an artificial flavor.

The ingredients of Nutella is not very complex, the only questionable items were the whey, as it could be from an animal source, and vanillin artificial flavor which could contain alcohol. According to the company’s answer their products are free from alcohol and animal-sourced enzymes.

Q: Is the whey produced from an animal source? Is there any means of  alcohol used in your products?

Below is the response from the company who produces Nutella chocolate spread and Ferrero Rocher hazelnut chocolate;

Nutella & Rocher do not contain alcohol or animal by products. The whey is derived from milk but demineralized to filter out raw whey mixture.

We are dedicated to providing consumers with the highest quality products to enjoy and are grateful for loyal consumers like you. We hope that you will continue to enjoy our Nutella® hazelnut spread as well as our other excellent products.

Thank you again for taking the time to contact us.


Ferrero U.S.A., Inc.
Consumer Relations



Related posts:

About The Author

I have been personally keeping a list of halal grocery products for a few years. The Halal list has gotten long and I intended to share it here in this blog. Hence, the name Halalist came to existence. Join me in my search for the truth about ingredients of store bought products...

No Comments